It`s always great to taste the unique dishes every time I visited a place especially if it turns out to be delicious one. This time I had a chance to be in Disentis, Switzerland. The locals brought me to a nice restaurant who in there, they proposed that I should try a food called CAPUNS for the appetizer. I never tasted it before, but I quite satisfied with the taste, combination between the spinach (info was from my dutch friend), cheese, and meat with the special sauce it has were quite intriguing. I did some research over internet once I retuned back to my hotel room. Btw, the view from my hotel room is quite nice, see below the picture I took from the window of my room! The hotel is called Hotel Restaurant La Furca, and based on tripadvisor has 4.5 ratings.

IMG_5557

Back to CAPUNS. From my search via internet it turns out that it`s not spinach but swiss chard leaves. It looks similar as spinach but with earthier flavor and it has less fat according to healthilicouness page. No wonder the swiss used it instead of spinach! But whether this is the main reason, I don`t know. But it does make the CAPUNS taste good.

swiss-chard-image-1

I am quite surprised that there are so many way of cooking CAPUNS, so the one that I had, the main items are as below but not the soup.

capuns

The soup looks like below pic.

capunsneu

I probably would want to try to cook one myself, so I googled and found this link from superfooddista on how to cook CAPUNS which looks not so bad. So I copied the how to cook CAPUNS below in case the web somehow becomes inactive in the future.

[taken from superfooddista blog, never tried but would want to try]
CAPUNS – STUFFED SWISS CHARD ROLLS
PREP TIME
40 mins
COOK TIME
20 mins
TOTAL TIME
1 hour
Stuffed Swiss Chard rolls – a delicious recipe inspired by Swiss mountain traditions.
Author: Superfoodista
Recipe type: Entree
Cuisine: Swiss
Serves: 2
INGREDIENTS
  • About 5 -8 large Swiss chard leaves (they should be as intact as possible and with a fine middle stem, so they are easier to handle)
  • ½ tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • ½ cup quinoa flour
  • ½ cup milk (use almond or coconut milk if you are vegan)
  • 1 flax egg (2 tbsp ground flax seed & 1 tbsp water, you can also use a normal egg)
  • A handful of chopped parsley
  • 3 tbsp cooked quinoa grains
  • 3 tbsp sun-dried tomatoes (if in oil, drained and patted dry), chopped finely
  • ¼ cup ground turkey, lean (for vegetarian and vegan version, just add more cooked quinoa, about 6 – 8 tbsp in total)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • For the broth: 1½ cup vegetable stock, ½ cup milk (use almond and coconut for vegan version)
  • 1 heaped tbsp non fat Greek yogurt (use coconut yogurt for vegan version)
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • For the decoration: the cooked stems of the Swiss chard, a bit more of the sun-dried tomatoes, grated cheese (optional – leave out for vegan version)
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Sauté de onion in the olive oil until fragrant
  2. Combine the sautéd onion, quinoa flour, milk, flax egg, parsley, quinoa grains, sun-dried tomato and ground turkey to a medium thick dough, season with salt and pepper
  3. Blanch the swiss chard leaves for 1 minute in hot water, rinse with cold water and extend flat on a kitchen cloth, pat them dry if needed
  4. Per leaf, add about 1 -2 tbsp of the dough, carefully wrap it and put into a pan (fold over on the side first, then carefully roll up)
  5. When all rolls are done, add the vegetable stock and the milk, simmer over medium heat for about 15 – 20 minutes until the turkey is well cooked (there should be no more visible pink pieces in the dough)
  6. Carefully remove the rolls from the pan, put aside
  7. Now add the chopped stems to the broth and cook for about 3 – 5 minutes until tender, add the greek yogurt, season with salt & pepper
  8. Place the rolls into a plate, pour the sauce into the plate, top with the sun-dried tomatoes and grated cheese
  9. Serve as it is or with a side of bread or warm quinoa